Archive : Standard-Triumph changes

Carole Nash Classic Insurance Specialists

Standard-Triumph Changes
Introduction of a new organizational structure for the Standard-Triumph group, of Coventry,  “so that the financial and managerial resources of the organization can be more effectively employed in the production and sale of cars” and other products was announced by the organization today. Another object of the move was  “to ensure that the cash obtained from the sale of the tractor assets is re-employed in this direction as early as possible.”

On September 28 Standard-Triumph International became the holding and policy making company for the group. The major changes are: the change of name of the Standard Motor Company to “Standard-Triumph International Ltd.” (S.T.I.) with a board of directors comprising Lord Tedder, chairman, Mr A. S. Dick, managing director, Mr K. Aspland, Mr E. Brimelow, Mr. M. J. Tustin, Mr H. S. Weale, Mr M. Whitfield, and Mr L. A. Woodall, directors.

Because of pressure of other business interests Mr C. C. Crosby has relinquished his directorship of the company, the announcement adds.  The Standard Motor Co. (1959) has changed its name to  “The Standard Motor Company Ltd.,” which becomes the major manufacturing subsidiary in the United Kingdom, and two subsidiary companies have been put into operation.

Keith Adams

Keith Adams

Editor and creator AROnline at AROnline
Created in 2001 and built it up to become the world's foremost reference source for all things BMC, Leyland and Rover Group, before renaming it AROnline in 2007.

Is the Editor of the Parkers website and price guide, formerly editor of Classic Car Weekly, and launch editor/creator of Modern Classics magazine. Has contributed to various motoring titles including Octane, Practical Classics, Evo, Honest John, CAR magazine, Autocar, Pistonheads, Diesel Car, Practical Performance Car, Performance French Car, Car Mechanics, Jaguar World Monthly, MG Enthusiast, Modern MINI, Practical Classics, Fifth Gear Website, Radio 4, and the the Motoring Independent...

Likes 'conditionally challenged' motors and taking them on unfeasible adventures all across Europe.
Keith Adams

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.